Cold no-start

Post your E12 technical questions and comments here. Please, no off-topic posts.

Moderators: Mike W., Pierre

Andrew in Calgary
Site Admin

Cold no-start

Post by Andrew in Calgary »

Running behind this morning thanks to my car that won't start, so not a lot of trouble-shooting thus far.

Engine cold, cranks fine, fuel pump running and fuel being pumped through the system but not yet sure if the injectors are firing. Gives a half-hearted almost-start when first cranked, but gives up shortly after that and just cranks without any evidence of ignition.

I know I can figure it out - I have enough tech info on hand and I am a mechanic afterall, but is there a likely culprit here I should look at first?
"There is nothing that a man can not make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who consider price only are this man's lawful prey." - Rio Sollway
1st 5er

Post by 1st 5er »

Being that I lack expert diagnostic capabilities, I'll just take a WAG;
Cold start relay or AFM connector.

Now I'll relax and await the professionals and hopefully learn something,
but more than that hopefully be able to remember it if/when the need arises.
Sherman

TexFest LSB&F V

95 525iT (Her DD)
92 ///M5 (????)
91 ///M5 (T donor)
88 ///M5 (Das Beast)
86 535i (Snob)
79 528i (1st 5er)
Techboy

Post by Techboy »

Check spark and injector pulse (with a node light) and let us know what you have or dont have.
Hold My Beer and Watch This...
Andrew in Calgary
Site Admin

I went out to the car this morning, asked it kindly to please start, hit the key and it jumped to life immediately. Gremlins I suppose.
"There is nothing that a man can not make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who consider price only are this man's lawful prey." - Rio Sollway
Mike W.

Post by Mike W. »