Hello everybody , Im converting my 530i to dual webers

Post your E12 technical questions and comments here. Please, no off-topic posts.

Moderators: Mike W., Pierre

demidestructo

Hello everybody , Im converting my 530i to dual webers

Post by demidestructo »

Hey everybody im new to the e12 but not to bmws in general.

I bought a 1978 530i with the thermal reactors,and i vowed to ditch them. I found some sweet period correct thermal reactor replacement headers by supersprint.( anybody know any info on them?) Im lucky because i live in Michigan close to a place called' Classic Daily'. They do work on older bmws to keep them on the road,the owner is a great guy who helps me alot. He sold me a m30 out of a bavaria,rebuilt with amc head,dual 32/36 weber down draft carbs. So thats the motor im using, i want to ditch as much wiring that isnt needed as possible. I swapped in the motor , pulled the rear pumps and filters,and am running a pertronix ignitor and flamethrower coil.
Now for the part ,I bet some people will not like I pulled off the diving board bumper and fitted a e34 front bumper. I had it painted in the original Sierra Beige and I think it looks awesome,and it dropped some weight. I think it looks so good im planning to ua e34 rear bumper a well.
Mike W.

Post by Mike W. »

Welcome to the group! Those carbs were a replacement for the evil Zeniths and provided better drivability, but perhaps with a slight drop in power. I lusted over them for years when I had a Bav before I injected it.
Mike W.

1980 528i, 3.5 euro, 5 speed conversion
1981 528i, 3.6, Recaros and more. Project
1998 328is, quick and efficient, but not satisfying
2000 528iit, Vacation mobile/wife's grocery getter
demidestructo

Post by demidestructo »